Wireless Innovation Forum Welcomes New Board of Directors Members, Announces Release of its Dynamic Spectrum Sharing Annual Report



For Immediate Release

Washington, DC, 6 November 2014 – The Wireless Innovation Forum, a non-profit international industry association dedicated to driving the future of radio communications and systems worldwide, today announced new Board of Directors members elected at the Forum's 2014 Annual Meeting on 6 November, in Rome, Italy. Also during the meeting, members also approved the Forum's Dynamic Spectrum Sharing Annual Report, prepared by its Spectrum Innovation Committee.

New members welcomed to the Forum's board include:

Claude Bélisle, Chief Executive Officer of Nordiasoft has been elected as a Member at Large. Mr. Bélisle graduated in 1983 from the Royal Military College of Canada in Engineering Physics and obtained, in 1985, a M.Sc. Physics with specialty in optical systems. Over his 28 year career in research and development at Defence R&D Canada and Communications Research Centre, he has been involved in a wide range of technologies, from microwave-photonics, communications networks, software defined radios, and satellite communications. He successfully exploited new wireless technologies to address the requirements of policy makers, regulators, military, first-responders, and service providers. He has previously held the positions of Vice President Satellite Communications Research and Strategic Program Development at the CRC where he spearheaded major strategic and technological shifts across the research organization to position it to the new reality of government R&D programs. He launched the CRC research program that created the technologies now with NordiaSoft. He forged multiple collaborations with external partners such as Canadian Space Agency, the Department of National Defence, the public safety community and the industry at large, nationally and internationally. He has previously served as the technical director of WInnForum.

David Hagood, elected as Member at Large, received his Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering from Wichita State University in 1987. He joined IFR Systems in 1990. IFR Systems was later purchased by Aeroflex, itself recently purchased by Cobham. He worked on several radio service monitor and spectrum analyzer projects (AN-900, TS-4317, 3900, 7200), and was software architectural lead on the COM-120B and 2975 (IFR Systems' first SDR test set). He has developed testing systems targeting military tactical radios, avionics, and land mobile radio. Currently, he is the lead SCA evangelist within Aeroflex, leading development of SCA based radio test systems. He also holds a US Amateur Extra class radio license (N0YKG).

Board members returning to their current positions include: Bruce Oberlies (Motorola Solutions) as Forum Chair/President, Alberto Quintana (Indra Sistemas) as Secretary, David Renaudeau (Thales) as Large Company Representative, James Neel (CR Technologies) as Small Company Representative, Marc Adrat (Fraunhofer FKIE) as Government/Non-Profit Representative, Jeff Reed (Virginia Tech) as Academic Representative, Claudio Armani (Selex) as Member at Large, Salvadore D'Itri (Shared Spectrum) as Member at Large, and Darcy Swain-Walsh (MITRE) as Member at Large.

Board members changing positions include Manuel Uhm (Coherent Logix) from Chief Marketing Officer to Board of Directors Chair, Raghavan Muralidharan (Tata SED) from Medium Company Representative to Forum Vice Chair/President, Ken Dingman (Harris) from Member at Large to Chief Financial Officer, and Preston Marshall (Google) from Member at Large to Chief Regulatory Officer.

The Board would like to thank the following outgoing members for their service: John Glossner (Optimum Semiconductor Technologies) who served as the Board of Directors Chair, Ruediger Leschhorn (Rohde & Schwarz) who served as Forum Vice-Chair, Vince Kovarik (PrismTech) who served as Treasurer, Robert Schutz (Artisan Wireless) who served as Chief Technology Officer and Peter Stanforth (Spectrum Bridge) who served as a member at large.

In addition to electing new board members, the Forum's 65 international member organizations voted approval of the group's **Dynamic Spectrum Sharing Annual Report**. This report was created for regulators, policy makers, spectrum

managers, network planners, and wireless researchers who need to understand the state of technologies such as dynamic spectrum access and their ability to facilitate spectrum sharing. The report acts as a reference guide to clearly identify and synthesize a harmonized view of the results of spectrum sharing research and trials, identify what is in development, and articulate what issues are being addressed and what issues still need to be resolved. The Forum's Spectrum Innovation Committee members collaborated to prepare the report over the past several months. The report can be downloaded here: http://groups.winnforum.org/d/do/7881.

#

About the Wireless Innovation Forum

Established in 1996, The Wireless Innovation Forum (SDR Forum Version 2.0) is a non-profit mutual benefit corporation dedicated to advocating for spectrum innovation, and advancing radio technologies that support essential or critical communications worldwide. Members bring a broad base of experience in Software Defined Radio (SDR), Cognitive Radio(CR) and Dynamic Spectrum Access (DSA) technologies in diverse markets and at all levels of the wireless value chain to address emerging wireless communications requirements. To learn more about The Wireless Innovation Forum, its meetings and membership benefits, visit www.WirelessInnovation.org.

Editorial Contacts

Lee Pucker, 604-828-9876, Lee.Pucker@wirelessinnovation.org or Stephanie Hamill, 970-290-9543 or Stephanie.Hamill@wirelessinnovation.org